Uploaded TMX but not populating target text
Thread poster: Joanna Kl
Joanna Kl
Joanna Kl
United Kingdom
Mar 10, 2021

I am new to CafeTran.

I translated a file in CT, exported the TMX file, but needed to re-do the translation with a new file formatting (no new source text, just new formatting, text splitting/paragraphs layout). I thought that all I need to do is upload the previously exported TMX, upload the file with new formatting, and I'll get 100% matches. For some reason this is not the case. Any suggestions please?

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Subtle differences in formatting Mar 11, 2021

can lower the matching rate under 100 %. Differences in segmentation aren’t subtle at all, and will lower the matching rate significantly.

Do you get fuzzy matches?

Screen Shot 2021-03-11 at 07.33.16

Screen Shot 2021-03-11 at 07.33.52

You can click the Join and Split icons to recreate the segmentation of the original document:

By default, CafeTran Espresso will store the locations of in-segment formatting in a new project memory:

When opening an existing memory that has been saved with the locations of in-segment formatting, you'll have to tick the corresponding checkbox:

[Edited at 2021-03-11 09:08 GMT]

Joanna Kl
Joanna Kl
United Kingdom
TOPIC STARTER
To Hans Mar 11, 2021

I am not getting any results from my Project TM tab, and the Matchoard is bringing up what looks like a machine translation that doesn't encompass my TMX at all. Does it matter that I am using the Free Trial of CafeTran?
Is varied segmentation a problem in oher translation tools as well? Or are the other translation tools (like Trados) 'more clever' in matching source and target with varied text splitting?
I am using CafeTran to translate subtiles, the text never changes, but the di
... See more