Thread poster: Mona Aboeleyoun (X)
Mona Aboeleyoun (X)
Mona Aboeleyoun (X)
Germany
German to Arabic
+ ...
Nov 10, 2019

Hi,

I'm a translation student, in my last Semester and want to invest my time and money in a CAT Tool, what are the most important things to be aware of when I purchase a CAT tool, or just decide to invest my time learning a free CAT tool like OmegaT or wordfast anywhere ?

In other words, what are the most important criteria that lead me to purchase a certain CAT tool?

Thank you in advance!

Mona

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 17:47
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Thoughts Nov 10, 2019

Mona Aboeleyoun wrote:
what are the most important things to be aware of when I purchase a CAT tool, or just decide to invest my time learning a free CAT tool like OmegaT or wordfast anywhere ?

Are they not teaching you how to use them as part of your studies? I know they've been slow to include them but CAT tools have been around a long while now.

I don't know what your plans are for the future. Consider investing in the PLUS membership package here. It includes a Pro licence for CafeTran as well as several other perks that might interest you.

Jorge Payan

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 18:47
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Mona Nov 10, 2019

Mona Aboeleyoun wrote:
What are the most important criteria to purchase a CAT tool?

Price, user features and agency features.

Price:
MemoQ: 10 years with upgrades: €1800, 10 years without upgrades: €620
Trados: 10 years with upgrades: €1750, no 10 years without upgrades: €750
Wordfast: 10 years with upgrades: €1100, 10 years without upgrades: €1100
DejaVu: 10 years with upgrades: €900, 10 years without upgrades: €450
CafeTran: 10 years with upgrades: €750, 10 years without upgrades: €200
OmegaT: 10 years with upgrades: €0, 10 years without upgrades: €0

User features: