How to keep source tags or add them easily into the translated text?
Thread poster: ikaros21
ikaros21
ikaros21
Venezuela
Local time: 20:31
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 25, 2021

Hello,

I've been using OmegaT for several months, and I'm still a newbie.

My client always asks me to translate files including text between keys, like {b}{/b} for bold text or {i}{/i} for italics.

I need to keep those tags in the target text (the translated text).

But when I use OmegaT, sometimes the machine translator respects those tags, but sometimes it does not, or changes those tags for symbols or spaces.

So I've been wonderi
... See more
Hello,

I've been using OmegaT for several months, and I'm still a newbie.

My client always asks me to translate files including text between keys, like {b}{/b} for bold text or {i}{/i} for italics.

I need to keep those tags in the target text (the translated text).

But when I use OmegaT, sometimes the machine translator respects those tags, but sometimes it does not, or changes those tags for symbols or spaces.

So I've been wondering what can I do to solve this problem. I've been doing the corrections manually, but this is very time consuming!

It would be great to find a way to "instruct" OmegaT's machine translator to leave those tags in the translated text, or at least to be able to insert those tags easily for the segments that need them.

I hope you can help me with this.

Thank you very much.
Collapse

Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Russian to English
+ ...
machine translator? Jan 25, 2021

OmegaT itself does not have a "machine translator." You can use various MT apps, such as Google Translate, but they are not part of OmegaT. Please clarify what you are trying to do.
Otherwise, as the OmegaT manual explains, Ctrl+t will insert the next tag into your target text.

Aline Amorim

ikaros21
ikaros21
Venezuela
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Keep the keys tags Jan 25, 2021

Hi, thanks for your answer.