Translation of "ingredients from local sources" -> do they stay "local" once translated...?
Thread poster: Annabelle Girard
Annabelle Girard
Annabelle Girard
France
Local time: 10:40
English to French
+ ...
Sep 15, 2020

Dear all,
This is my first time posting on and using this forum so please excuse me if I am not in the right category or if this question has already been asked.

I have a question regarding the translation of the word "local" in food packaging / compositions.
Let's say I am translating a brochure for a German food brand into French. In this brochure, it is mentionnend "ingredients from local sources".
Can we translate the word "local" as such or should we prefe
... See more
Dear all,
This is my first time posting on and using this forum so please excuse me if I am not in the right category or if this question has already been asked.

I have a question regarding the translation of the word "local" in food packaging / compositions.
Let's say I am translating a brochure for a German food brand into French. In this brochure, it is mentionnend "ingredients from local sources".
Can we translate the word "local" as such or should we prefer something like "ingredients from European/German sources", given that the ingredients are not "local" for the French consumer; or maybe they are, if the brand also has providers in France for the French market, which I doubt...
You might advise me to ask the client, but I'm pretty sure they will never give me a satisfying reply, as I have already tried for similar questions.
What would be the less risky solution?
Is there a EU regulation or something that specifies how and when should the word "local" be used, and specifically in the case of a translation?
I always find this situation very uncomfortable when a client wants to have a product translated in every language but does not go all the way to the localization process...
Or maybe I am thinking too far...?
Any hint welcome!

Thanks!
Collapse

philgoddard