Windows 10 version for freelance translator (home vs pro)
Thread poster: Marianna Pulkkanen
Marianna Pulkkanen
Marianna Pulkkanen
Switzerland
Local time: 07:05
English to Finnish
+ ...
Feb 28, 2018

Hello everyone,

I'm looking to replace my old laptop, and I think I've found "the one" but I'm struggling to decide whether I should choose Windows 10 home or pro. I've compared the differences but I don't really know if I would really need all the features that the pro version offers. At the same time, I'm afraid the home version has a lot of useless applications that I won't be able to get rid of. I have very little experience in working with Windows 10 so I don't know if it's pos
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm looking to replace my old laptop, and I think I've found "the one" but I'm struggling to decide whether I should choose Windows 10 home or pro. I've compared the differences but I don't really know if I would really need all the features that the pro version offers. At the same time, I'm afraid the home version has a lot of useless applications that I won't be able to get rid of. I have very little experience in working with Windows 10 so I don't know if it's possible to uninstall built-in apps. Any ideas?
Collapse

Lincoln Hui
Lincoln Hui  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Local time: 14:05
Chinese to English
+ ...
Home Feb 28, 2018

Pro has a number of potentially useful business features; however, the general rule of thumb is that if you don't know whether you'll need it, you don't need it.

In any event, you can upgrade to Pro if you find out that you need to (or conversely, downgrade from Pro if you want to do so for some reason).

Enrico C - ECLC
Enrico C - ECLC  Identity Verified
Taiwan
Local time: 14:05
English to Italian
+ ...
Not many differences Feb 28, 2018

Marianna Pulkkanen wrote:

Hello everyone,