Mark text not for translation
Thread poster: QUOI
QUOI
QUOI  Identity Verified

Chinese to English
+ ...
Mar 4, 2014

Hi all,
I am new to XTM and am aware that I can mark text not for translation by applying "DoNotTranslate" style to text concerned.

I am wondering however if I can achieve this by marking text in a particular color like you can do with Excel files in DVX (ignore red)? I am currently dealing with many excel files in which the client has already marked non-translatable text in red.

Any information will be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

XTM Intl
XTM Intl
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:57
Excluding text marked in certain color from translation Mar 4, 2014

Hello,

In XTM version 8.2 we have introduced the possibility to exclude text marked in any color from translation in Excel files by preparing a proper ITS rule. In order for us to prepare it for you, please provide your company name, customer name to which this rule should be applied and the mentioned Excel file. Please send your reply to [email protected]

Kind regards,
XTM Support Team

Meta Arkadia
Meta Arkadia
Local time: 06:57
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Delete it! Mar 4, 2014

This may sound very strange, but it's based on the fact that the Track Changes feature of MS Office (and only MS Office, it seems) doesn't track changes if those changes were made outside the program. And it just works, as we say.

- Open the spreadsheet.
- Set Track Changes.
- Delete the cells you don't have to translate (Find red text, replace with nothingness)
- Save.
- Translate in your CAT tool
- Export.
- Open in Excel.
- Reject All Cha
... See more
This may sound very strange, but it's based on the fact that the Track Changes feature of MS Office (and only MS Office, it seems) doesn't track changes if those changes were made outside the program. And it just works, as we say.

- Open the spreadsheet.
- Set Track Changes.
- Delete the cells you don't have to translate (Find red text, replace with nothingness)