Replicating layout and "look": Any software suggestions?
Thread poster: Anita Planchon
Anita Planchon
Anita Planchon  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 15:25
Member (2012)
French to English
+ ...
May 29, 2018

Hello,

I regularly translate official documents such as birth and marriage certificates and educational qualifications. My clients are generally submitting these to immigration departments for visa and citizenship purposes, along with the original documents in the source language. For this reason, I try to make the translations look broadly like the originals - I use similar colour, font and layout. Although this may not strictly be my job as a translator, I know that these clients
... See more
Hello,

I regularly translate official documents such as birth and marriage certificates and educational qualifications. My clients are generally submitting these to immigration departments for visa and citizenship purposes, along with the original documents in the source language. For this reason, I try to make the translations look broadly like the originals - I use similar colour, font and layout. Although this may not strictly be my job as a translator, I know that these clients are going through long and costly processes (of which the translations are a large part of the cost) and if I can ensure the translation is readily acceptable for the purpose it is sought by being recognisable to the official examining it then I will.